Designs For Living – Brenda Gay Shumaker

Gay_s_Photo_Shot-_JpegLast evening I had the privilage of listening to Brenda Gay Shumaker, who came to my home church. It was ladies night out and what better way for a bunch of ladies to gather and have a good time, then to listen to Brenda talk on the design of our homes and our hearts.

Brenda, an interior decorator teaches us how to prepare not only our homes, but our hearts to create a joyful enjoyful enviornment for our families. According to Brenda, “We only have one chance to make a first impression- make it joyful (smile) because a cheerful look brings joy to the heart.”

She reminds us that, “God sees our hearts not the dust on our tables.”

I had a opportunity to speak with Brenda after her talk. She’s a vibrant and passionate woman of Christ. When I asked her what was the first step she took in her ministry to stand up before us last night, this is how she responded, “i was an interior decorater, and after fifteen years of having my own business, I sold it. I had been invited to give my testimony, and ever since I’ve been sharing my testimony and my experience in interior decorating with people.”

Designing a home isn’t so much about what you put inside it, the color of your drapes, the way your furniture is placed, so much as presenting a home filled with love, feeling welcome, and open hearts.

If you’d like to learn more about this fantastic woman and her ministry, check out Brenda Gay Shumaker at Designs for living.

http://www.designsforliving.org

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Susan's Muse

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
