Two Shall Become One

On the day of my wedding, family members gathered from near and far.  As I stood face to face with my handsome groom, the pastor of our church recited this verse from Mark 10:7-9, ” For this reason a man shall leave his father and mother and be joined to his wife, and the two shall become one flesh; so then they are no longer two, but one flesh.  Therefore what God has joined together, let no man separate.”

My wedding day flew by in a smear of images and events.  But the one thing about that day that stands out amongst all the rest, is the moment I held his hand in mine, looked into his deep blue eyes and said, “I,  Susan, take you Chad, to be my husband, to have and to hold from this day forward, for better or for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish; from this day forward until death do us part.”

Then I slid a simple gold band around his finger, and he squeezed my hand. 

As we turned and faced the expectant faces of those sitting in the church pews, I knew from that moment forward, I’d never be the same person again.  Applause came from the guests, and even though the pastor pronounced us Mr & Mrs. Flowers (instead of Mr. & Mrs. Lower) it didn’t matter.  “For what God as joined together, let no man separate.”

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Inspiring Romance

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
