Taking The Trash Out of Romance

For the past four days I’ve been without a computer. Old faithful (my computer) was getting over heated and decidedly one evening while I was in the middle of writing a scene to simply shut down.

I’m very blessed, however, my dear husband had installed a home network a few weeks earlier that keeps all my files backed up. So I may have lost that one scene due to over heating, but at least the entire manuscript wasn’t lost like yesterday’s garbage.

Speaking about garbage, tomorrow is my weekly home blessing and day I put out my trash in the evening for pick up the next day.

I admit I’ve been a little behind on writing without a computer and three kids, plus snow days the past few weeks.  I’ve been trying to play catch up all day. I haven’t made it to taking out the trash yet, but as the thought of taking out the trash comes to my mind I think not only of the things I dispose of daily in my trash can, but books. 

Did you know that some people refer to romance novels as “trashy books” or “trashy novels”? Have you ever had someone come up to you and say, “Oh you read those trashy books.” 

“No, I don’t,” is the usual reply I give someone with such a comment. Not all books are trashy, and many people have formed a misconception that all romance novels are nothing but pages upon pages of sex.  Perhaps this misconception comes from the variety of different kinds of romance novels on the market today.

There is an old saying that goes, “another man’s trash is another man’s treasure”, perhaps the same goes for romance novels. I doubt, however, that you’ll run into a romance author who appreciates their hard work referred to as “trash”.

I think Lori Wilde says it best in her online course Romance Writing Secrets when she says, “While physical expressions of love are essential elements of romance novels, the stories are not about sex. They’re about intimacy.”

Webster defines intimacy as a close and warm friendship, familiarity, a feeling of growing close.

A good romance novel not only pulls the reader in closer to the characters, but also builds intimacy between the characters that evolves into a love relationship.

So the next time you’re looking to take out the trash, I encourage you to pick up an Inspirational Romance instead. You may find yourself pleasantly surprised. I know I did the first time I was introduced to this genre of romance.

Having no computer for the past few days I’ve recently picked up and began reading Missy Tippens book His Forever Love. So far so good. 🙂 It’s definately a keeper. I’m hoping to finish it in a day or two.

Oh, I almost forgot…I have to go take out the trash!

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Susan's Muse

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
