Identity Crisis

Lately, I have been transitioning through an identity crisis. As you may have noticed the blog has changed themes again from its once baby blue and tea-cup heart background to this simple and classic burgundy layout.

For the past week, I have been struggling, like so many of you, to discover who I am as a writer and make it into a marketable brand that is easily recognized reflecting of who I am – Susan Lower. (Often referred to as one’s “niche”)

Thanks to the amazing talents of a friend, I can say that I now have a simple but  brand. 

 

The business cards have been designed and ordered in anticipation of this years writer’s conferences I’m planning on attending. (which I’ll share in another post in the upcoming weeks.)

It’s amazing, from the time we are born, we are immediately headed on a journey of self discovery. Our parents have named us, but really don’t know who we are – until we begin to experience life and experiment with what there is to see and serve in this lifetime.

We begin in the early years by recognizing our own names. It has always been a precious moment to me when my children can repeat their names and tell others who they are – on the outside. On the inside, they’re still on their journey of self-discovery.

Some of us discover God’s gifts of talent to us early on, like writing, singing, painting, building, calculating, caring, and so many other wonderful gifts available to those of us who choose to seek them and use them.  My talent and gift comes in the form of creativity and writing. When I’m not writing – I’m crafting. Just check out my site at MRsCHADT and you can see that side of me.

There is never just one side of us, like a coin we can be flipped and discover a whole new side that we haven’t seen before. As individuals, there’s always the inside and the outside to be exposed.  Everyday we see the outside of those around us, the one side they choose to reveal, but on the inside (flip side) they may be completely different and hiding who they truly are afraid of the outside world’s reaction.

The journey to self-discovery continues through the early years of our lives and begins to get bumpy at the launch of our teenage years. Teenagers, more than most, struggle with tough decisions. Many bulk against the wisdom of their parents, trying to find their own place and talents. This struggle can go on beyond being a teenager, they say that women come into that discovery at 30.

Perhaps that saying is right, as at this age many women have or have not started a family, have had a chance to test out the waters of various career options, rode out the waves of family situations, and have grounded themselves in their spiritual beliefs.

Those beliefs of faith, love, and hope imprinted into our hearts from birth remain with us,even in the trail periods when we choose to push them aside. God’s love will never leave us, nor forsake us. For some of us, it is enough just to know that we are loved.

Who better to love us, than our heavenly father, right?

At some point in our lives, we’ve all faced an identity crisis. We cannot, and never will be just one person in our lifetime. I have many identities in which many of you can relate. I am a daughter, a sister, a friend, a wife, a mother, and so much more. I’m also a writer.

Identity crisis? I think not. More like identity awareness that forms our own individual brands.

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Susan's Muse
3 comments on “Identity Crisis
  1. slamdunk says:

    I like the look. I hope you enjoy your writing conference.

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
