When It Comes to Push and Shove

For the past few weeks my two youngest children have been caught up in a battle between push and shove. Just when I think the two of them are getting along I hear, “Mom, he pushed me” or “She hit me.”

At first the battle of push and shove began with an older brother pushing his little sister out-of-the-way, much like his older sister does to him. Lessons like making a child go last when they strive to go first no matter who they shove out-of-the-way, just doesn’t seem to work in this particular battle.

Yes, I’ve given both my youngest children the pep talk of loving one another, serving one another, and apologizing. Unfortunately, it last only a little while  until the next incident occurs.

It has gotten to the point, like any frustrated mother, I finally said to my son, “If your little sister pushes you again, shove her back.” At some point, I prayed that should my youngest get shoved a time or two she’d finally learn the lesson not to push her other siblings around. Sometimes, the best lessons learned are the hardest.

When the time came around again, I heard, “Mom, she did it again. She pushed me.” Then I heard little feet come running. “She pushed me! Can I push her back?”

I laughed.  Here my son was asking permission to do what I had already told him he could do. I couldn’t blame him though, for the past three years I’d be teaching him to love his baby sister, don’t hurt your sister, don’t push or shove, and I was telling him to do just the opposite. He had to double-check to be sure.

Needless to say, the next time my youngest gave her big brother a shove, he pushed back. And, she came running, “Mom, he pushed me!”

“Good, maybe next time you’ll reconsider your actions before shoving someone else to the side.”

A pair of little blue eyes stared at me for a moment, grinned, and replied “No.”

When it comes to push and shove, to each his own. Who knows, perhaps it is best when we get knocked flat on our bottoms that we truly begin to understand what it is to rise with dignity and humble ourselves to reach a higher place.

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Susan's Muse

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
