Write Down The River

You know the end of school is drawing near when my son’s preschool has their annual trip on a river boat called the Hiawatha.  

 I look forward to this down river excursion each year as not only does it mark the end of a school year, but when we sit on the top deck of the river boat and watch the landscape go by it can be peace for just a moment. And, when I say “just a moment” I really mean it. Because if you were riding aboard the Hiawatha with close to a hundred people, I’m sure you’d agree there is nothing peaceful about it. 

Both my younger daughter and my son climbed the rail to look over at the large red paddles of the river boat as the engine started up and the captain announced we’d be pulling away from the dock.  With in a few minutes, my daughter had the front legs of her pants soaked and her little bottom where she’d kneeled down beside the rail to peek out at those big red paddles.

I must admit, it was perfect weather yesterday for a boat ride!  Once the kids got settled it was smooth paddling all the way down the river.

 Afterwards we enjoyed sitting on the grassy bank near the park’s pavilion and had lunch. Later we went home for a nap.  All that fresh air paddling down river made me tired, so I recruited my son and younger daughter to take a nap.  As they slept I slipped away to my handy-dandy laptop to get a few words in on my latest manuscript.

Thanks for climbing aboard and taking a trip down river with me.  I look forward to doing it again next year when my youngest daughter enters preschool and my son heads off to kindergarten!

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Susan's Muse

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
