Whirlwind Weekend Through Motherhood

WHAT I’M CURRENTLY READING: His Forever Love by Missy Tippens

WORK IN PROGRESS: 71, 690 words

This past weekend was a whirlwind of events.  There is no such thing as being lazy or relaxing in our house.  There are always children to chase in the backyard, places to go, people to see, and chores that can’t wait until Monday – such is the life of this writing mom.

This past weekend was no different.  As a mom, I’m automatically elected as the taxi driver when ever my children want to go somewhere.  Of course there is that factor too, that I’ the one with the mini van, where as my husband prefers his motorcycle when the weather is permitting. Which basically means, when it’s not snowing.

My whirlwind began on friday night, having to run to the grocery store with three kids in tow, just to get a dozen of eggs.  Then back home, it was time to whip up two dozen cupcakes for my husband’s Christian Motorcycle Association fundraiser at our local Sam’s Club.  So, I baked the cupcakes, gave the kids the proverbially warning not to touch them and recruited everyone for bed time rituals.

The next morning, sacrificing my writing time for the greater good..lol… I spent the morning icing cupcakes, placing them in a box and wrapping gifts.  Saturday was a whirlwind!

After the cupcakes were handed off to a member of CMA (Christian Motorcycle Association) I was in my vehicle and heading to an open house engagement party to drop off a gift before coming home to pick up children for a mid morning birthday part. No sweat, right? Some moms go off on tangents.  This mom gets distracted by yard sale signs – really BIG yard sales signs. 

So, I rush in the house after my gift delivery and browsing a large outdoor yard sale a local ball field and there’s my oldest daughter with only one shoe on. Sigh… Needless to say, we were fashionably late for the birthday party.  It was, however, great fun, great friends, and great food. It will sadden me next year when the school year starts up and my son goes to preschool not to have those morning playdates with the hostess of the party, but I’m sure we’ll squeeze in time to get together in the months to come as I take on more time to write in the fall.

When the part was over, the kids and I headed to Sam’s Club.   The kids each got a balloon, and before we left we contributed to the fund raiser.  Here’s a few pictures of Saturday’s CMA fundraiser.

Needless to say, we all came home Saturday throughly exhausted!

Sunday was our Youth Sunday at church.  Many of our youth sang, shared testimony, preformed skits, and over the course of the year our youth had even made their own music video.  I walked away from church service awed and inspired.  After lunch, with one napping child and two others playing, I spent the afternoon writing like a mad woman. Before I knew it, lunch time had turned into supper and my children hadn’t even come knocking!

They and my husband had been snatching left over cupcakes all afternoon  and watching Star Wars!

Ahh… the whirlwind weekends that sometimes push us along on our journeys through motherhood.

Stay tuned… my wedding anniversary is but a few days away.

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Susan's Muse
2 comments on “Whirlwind Weekend Through Motherhood
  1. Hello, I log on to your blogs daily. Your humoristic style is awesome, keep doing what you’re doing!

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
