Don’t Break the Sugar Bowl

When I was a kid, my mother used to always play this game with us called “Don’t break the Sugar Bowl.”  It’s still a game she likes to play with her grand children today. Basically, it’s a game to see how long one can be quiet. Now that I’m a mother, I can appreciate why this was one of my mom’s favorite games.

Essentially, the first one to speak – breaks the sugar bowl.

Although, I didn’t spot any sugar bowls, this past Monday, we headed off and took our kids on a glassfastic adventure. We visited the Corning museum of Glass in Corning, New York.

I’d like to say that none of my children broke anything, but unfortunately that’s just not true. My oldest daughter participated in a demo that did exactly that – broke glass! Behind a protective plastic shield my daughter pulled back on levers and broke different types of glass. The male demonstrator discussed and with my daughter’s help, demonstrated how different glass breaks different ways.

She was thrilled to get to break glass and received a little glass whale in reward for her participation. Then we headed over to several other demos. The family favorite becoming the glass blowing. The kids sat demo after demo watching hot glass blown and shaped.

When you first come into the Corning museum of Glass each child has the opportunity to draw a picture of something that maybe selected to be turned into glass.  Here are my three kids’ drawings:

A few months ago, you may have remembered reading about my cinderella slippers. Well, these are the real deal. Genuine glass slippers made for a cinderella movie back in the 1940’s.

How about toe tapping in those?

And Grandma was worried about breaking the sugar bowl!

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Posted in Susan's Muse

Leave a comment

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read