How Often Do You Judge a Book By Its Cover?

Last week, I had the privilege of volunteering at the elementary school where my children attend. It was book fair week. One of my favorite times of the year. Why? Because instead of begging me for candy, my kids want to buy books.

We have this little moto in our house, “You can never have too many books.” We love books. They’re great for the imagination. They teach you not only to read, but interesting things you might never have known before. And, they can take you on adventures to far off places.

So, after helping several dozen children pick out books, it occurred to me — how often do you judge a book by its cover?

I watched kid after kid browsing bookshelves and tables in search for the perfect book. Many girls picked out puppy covers and pony covers, while the boys headed over to Goose Bumps and Dairy of a Wimpy Kid.  There were not very many kids who flipped over the back of the book to see what it was about. They only looked at the cover.

I got to thinking of my own way of looking for a book. I know what I like to read, so you’ll usually find me in the romance section or young adult section of any book store. Although, I admit, I’ve been reading some middle grade too.

My oldest has recently discovered Magic Pony, Katie Kazoo, and her all time favorite Pokemon. While my son, is just beginning to read so we have the Match Box Car books, Scooby Doo, and Ben 10 filing his bookshelf these days. Then my youngest, yep you guessed it Strawberry Shortcake and Dora.

We actually found a Strawberry Shortcake book at the book fair!

So we know what we like to read, but how did you discover you like that type of book? And more importantly, what makes you pick up a book by an author you haven’t ever read?

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Susan's Muse

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
