Have You Ever Put a Book Down That Had A Mistake?

Even the greats make mistakes.

Last evening I picked up a well-known author’s book, made myself comfortable, and began to read. A few pages in, I found myself stumbling over a sentence where the word “in” should have been inserted to make the sentence read a lot clearer.

Just last week I read a post over at an agent’s blog talking about revision. We write, we revise, we revise again, and we have an editor take a look at our work with new eyes. No matter who we are though, nobody’s perfect. Not even J.K. Rowling, Nora Roberts, or Dan Brown — all top names you see on the shelves these days.

Did I stop reading because of this one mistake? No, I re-read the sentence, inserted the missing word in my mind and  kept on reading. Why? Because it was an awesome story and one mistake couldn’t take away from that.

Often as a writer I believe we strive for perfection. Editors, Agents, and our readers demand it. Just like being a mother, our kids sometimes to get this image that we should know all, be all, and never make a mistake.

Nobody’s perfect. It’s what makes us real. What makes us acceptable to others, because hey…we all make mistakes.

3,986 words into NaNoWrimo – I’m getting the story out. Revision will come later, but until then when is the last time you closed a book without finishing it and why?

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Susan's Muse, Uncategorized
2 comments on “Have You Ever Put a Book Down That Had A Mistake?
  1. I never read one that didn’t, so I finish ’em all anyway.

    Dr. B

  2. amanda says:

    Hi there — found you via the writing tab. I’m also a writing mama, and am participating in NaNoWriMo.

    The last time I put down a book (and I do this quite often) was because the story did not grab me. If you don’t have me in the first 50 pages or so, I have plenty of other books to read. I can take the occasional stumble, but if it’s constant, I’ll no longer trust that writer’s ability to keep me engaged.

    Having said that, yes, we all make mistakes. I revise and update my blog posts over and over, and yet…Today, I still found a typo AFTER hitting “publish.” Mortified, but human.

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
