Do You Give More Than You Take From Others?

I haven’t gotten a lot of writing done in the past few days. I apologize for skipping Friday’s post, as I had parent-teacher conferences for my two oldest children.  I’ve added about 1500 words to my word count, but admit I’m falling behind in the race for NanoWrimo.

As a mom of three kids, it can sometimes be a struggle to balance writing time and family time.

I guess you could say that life is sometimes a battle between give and take. There are those of us who give without asking for anything in return, and those of us who take. Sometimes they even demand from us what they think they deserve.

Lately, I find my children have fallen into the TAKE category more and more as each Christmas starts to roll around. Sometimes it is easy to fall into a trap of thinking you’re doing well to give your kids all the things you never had as a child, but the loss of appreciation of those things grows with your babies.

This is the case with my oldest daughter.

So, for the past week, since my last post, my daughter has been learning what it means to give rather than take. A lesson that is better demonstrated and observed by those around her.

For the past few days, we’ve cleaned out the toy closet and made donations to the local thrift shops of the toys and books we no longer love, read, or play. Then, being a crafty mom with a crafty-artistsy daughter we proceeded to make these little bobby pin clips in which my daughter donated to our church’s mission trip to a home for young girls on Christmas.

Sometimes we have to give a lot and take little in order to make a difference in someone’s life.

What would you give to make a difference in someone else’s life?

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Susan's Muse

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
