What Type of Gifts Are You Giving?

Every year when I ask my husband what he wants for Christmas, he says “snow.” Drives me crazy. Why? because he knows it’s impossible to give him snow.

Well, unless we get a heat wave, there’s snow outside, bottled snowed, and frozen snow cones. But that’s not what he wants. He wants snow, on christmas…you know the white stuff that floats gently down and covers the earth.

“Yeah,” I tell him, “I’ll order that right up.” Like a waitress calling into the kitchen.

I’ve got him this year though, a box of snow…make  your own… available at Wal-Mart. Can’t wait to see his face!

What can I say, I’m pretty crafty.

Actually, I love all things handmade. I think what I like the best about them is the time and thought put into handmade pieces. Like a box of DIY snow on Christmas morning.

Sometimes I’m amazed by hearing people talk about what to give others around the holiday season. They think they have to buy lavish gifts and extraordinary things for others in order to show they care, but really it’s just the thought that counts. It’s like we forget where true gifts come from – the heart.

I know I’m being sentimental today, but when is the last time you used your gifts or talents to give to others?

Retail stores swear by, the more personalized the gift, the more consumers want it.

Each year I put together a photo book for the in-laws. They love it. Month by month, 365 days a year, they get to see our family, even though we live hundreds of miles away. It’s more than just a bunch of photos, it’s the story of our family for the past year. A memory to be cherished for generations  to come.

Written sentiments, a phone call, beading, sewing, graphic design, photograph? What gifts do you have to give this holiday season?

On Friday, we’ll explore one of mine. 🙂

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
