What Are Your Kids Reading?

Last week, Bug brought home some new books from the story mobile at preschool.  I can’t say I was surprised by her selections: Dora and Diego.

Things have been pretty busy around here lately, but this past weekend I found myself curling up on a beanbag chair with the kids and reading some books.

Of course we read Bug’s library books – two or three times. Then we moved to some chapter books of Scooby Doo, Pokemon, and Katie Kazoo.

Bug wasn’t interested unless they had pictures. It’s the age, not the story. My other two kids couldn’t wait for our next time to sit down and read together. They actually fought over who got to pick the next book!

Since my two older children can read and are learning to read, we took turns reading the words and helping each other out. Now Bug, she just likes to retell the story, which is super for her age.

As a parent, I continually monitor what my children are watching on television and encouraging them to make the right choices. But the one thing I don’t do is monitor their books, as long as they come for the kids section.

When it comes to computer time, I find that starfall.com has been a great asset in helping my children to learn to read and enterain them. Because let’s face it, kids want to be entertained, that’s why we read them stories. That’s why we watch movies and play games.

According an article from The Washington Post, the most popular reads for kids are Dr. Suess, E.B. White, Judy Blume, S.E. Hinton, and Harper Lee.

It makes me wonder though. I know what my kids are reading, but do you know what your kids are reading? When is the last time you sat down with a child and enjoyed the excitement of a good book? What book was it?

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Susan's Muse

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
