Cleaning Day

“I’m not your maid,” cries Boy.

“What and you think I am?” I ask my six-year-old son. He’s standing in his room with his lip sticking out far enough a plane would mistake it for a landing pad. He crosses his arms and glares at me.

“Do I have to do everything?” He pouts.

“Yes. Yes you do.” It’s a saying I’ve gotten used to using whenever he asks this question. 

Around him is books, papers, and dirty clothes all over the floor. I’ve asked him to do three things. 1. pick up his books and put them on the book shelf. 2. Pick up his school papers and give them to me. 3. Put dirty clothes in the dirty laundry.

You see, yesterday was Mommy’s cleaning day. I wash the clothes, vacuum, and tidy up the house. All I ask is my kids have everything off the floor of their room before I bring in “Rollie” our vacuum cleaner. What ever is on the floor goes in the garbage. 

Bug and Bell are hard at work in their room. There no school today, or yesterday. Just love those days off for parent teacher conferences. Now, Boy stomps his foot at me.  I tell him. “Pick up your books and put them on the shelf. Then when your done, I’ll give you step two.”

“Isn’t anyone going to help me?” He gives me that sad basset hound look and I sigh.

“Did anyone help you throw them on the floor?” I ask.

“I need help!” he declares.

Don’t we all, I think. I lift a short prayer up to God and walk out of the room. “Just get the books on the shelf and then come see me. ” I say on my way to do the same in my own room.

Ah, the difficulties of cleaning day. It’s a weekly ritual around here. Just not so dramatic when the kids are in school.

Today, we’re off to see the kids’ teachers and drop Bug off at Preschool.  I say “We” because the kids have to come along with me.

It’s going to be another exciting day in the Lower Household. I think we’ll tackle the play room next. I’ve been wanting to make room to store my craft stuff. The laundry room is becoming overrun with scrapbook paper and fabric.

It’s a rainy day here, anyway. Once the toys are picked up. I think we’ll play some Wii. Boy still needs to upgrade his car on Sims Racing in order to have a chance of beating his old mom on the race track.

Then tomorrow it’s back to work, and blogging.

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
