Receiving the Royal Treatment

Yesterday was mother’s day.

Unlike most years, this year I received what I’d like to think of as “the royal treatment.”

It began with whispers from inside my kitchen and Boy ordering me to stay in bed – they had a special surprise for me.

Bug served me Orange Julius, Bell brought me a wonderfully cooked omelet, and Boy served me monkey bread (sounds effects and all). It was one of the best surprises I’ve ever received on Mother’s Day. We all sat around sharing the monkey bread, then headed off to church.

My husband presented me with a beautiful new necklace that says “mom”. I can honestly say I’m not sure if I’ll ever take it off – I was that touched.

After church, Boy made lunch. Peanut Butter and Jelly… It was the best pb & j I’d ever had. Of course it was, Boy made it just for me. 🙂

Then this evening, my husband made supper. Our pastor at church pinned it right when he said that “moms would have the day off today”, or at least in my case.

There’s nothing like getting the royal treatment, at least for a few hours.

Bell pulled out her violin and I was given a private concert. She played Mary Had a Little Lamb and a few other songs she’s been practicing for an upcoming concert.

The rest of the afternoon was spent working on my upcoming class at Pennsylvania College of Technology that starts next week, and preparing new business cards for conferences this summer. But I’ll save that for another post.

For now, I must go attend to the house so that perhaps tomorrow can be another writing day while the kids are at school learning, or at least that’s the plan.

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
