Which Way Did He Go?

I’ve been working out some new scenes in UNBRIDLED this past week. When I first starting working on this novel two months ago, I had a good idea where my characters were going along the lines of the plot. But Cade really threw me for a loop these past through scenes. Just when you think you know somebody! LOL.

Writing a scene in a novel is like watching an old movie where the police are on the chase of burglar and they stop to ask, “Which way did he go?” Some characters don’t have a clue, they’re purpose is exactly that, not to know. And sometimes, they’re better off not. However, we all know that the burglar gets away in the scene. How else would we move on to the next part of the story?

Creating Cade in UNBRIDLED has been a real challenge for me lately. He’s really made me step back and take a look at my own faith walk these past few weeks. Where as, Jenny has the best intentions, she just keeps sticking her foot in her mouth and poor Sarah is still waddling around waiting to have that baby. Oops, did I say baby? Yeah, so Sarah and Michael are expecting Ethan’s baby sister or brother fairly soon in the second book and Josh is well… Josh.

So, Jenny’s just made a mess of things again, and this time I think she’s done it. Cade is madder than a steaming tea pot.

He’s not sure why he ever came to Silver Wind in the first place, let alone why he’s been sticking around for long. But even though he’s longing for home, he doesn’t know where home is.

Last week as I was finishing up the draft of a chapter, I thought for sure that I knew where was Cade’s home was, then all of a sudden he leaned in and turned the whole scene in a different direction. I guess this week, I’m the one going along for the ride!

And leaves me at the beginning question, “Which way did he go?”

Perhaps next week, Cade will draw me a map to his ending destination. But it’s the journey he takes to get there that matters, right?

 

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Posted in Susan's Muse, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
