Make it Monday – Mask

In our roles through life we often wear many masks. We hide ourselves from others afraid to reveal who we really are. Like shields, we put on these masks that are intended to guard us and protect us. Or at least that is what we think, until the burden of wearing these masks become so heavy that we can’t bear to wear them anymore.

Here’s my mask:

Or at least this is the one that was given to me at a Women’s Night Out event a local church in the area. I decorated only half of this mask — the masquerade side. On the other half was  blank space for me to write all the things I’d been hiding. You know, the flaws and vulnerabilities that know one can see when my mask is on.  It was a very powerful evening.

Words have a lot of meaning to them. Sometimes we say things over and over almost as to convince ourselves that everything is going to be all right. Philippians reminds us that we can do all things through Him who strengthens us.

There were a lot of tough words being written on masks during that women’s event. And I have to admit probably one of the toughest words I could have written was “Super Woman”. Even though God tells us we can do all things through Him, He never said we would be able to do it ALL.

These past weeks, I’ve had to learn to say no and pear my tree of responsibilities that had begun to out grow even me. My kids were teetering out on the limbs and my husband had become so hidden in the layers of to do leafs that I felt my family becoming uprooted. So I took off my mask, shed my super woman cape, and climbed up the tree to rescued my family.

Will the mask go back on? Sure it will. I’m human and I still have things written on that mask that I need to learn to trust God and let go of. But for now, I’ve learned to say no, learned to focus on what is important in my life: God, Family, my writing ( a gift God has given me to use and I haven’t been utilizing to its fullest this past year.)

Will the mask ever stay off? Yes. yes  it will. But only as my walk with God grows stronger, just like one day you’ll be able to take off your mask too. If you’re wearing a mask today, invisible as it is to us, what would it look like if we were to meet at a grand masquerade ball with God as the host?

You’ve already seen mine. Will your’s be covered with sparkles or feathers? and what colors will I recognize you by?

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Make It Monday

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
