Cherry Cobbler – Farm Style

 I have to give Betty Crocker credit, the best thing ever made was Bisquick. Got to love this stuff!  Yesterday evening, I was looking for something quick, something fun, and something totally delicious that the kids couldn’t resist eating their supper for, and I remembered how great my Mom’s cherry cobbler always tasted.

Of course, mine came out nothing like this picture. Again, Betty Crocker is just awesome – hence the photo.

However, I must say mine might not have been picture perfect, but it was good. I called my mom, don’t you just love how moms are always there when you need them? Even if it’s for  a recipe, right?

Of course the only thing they put on the back of a Bisquick box is how to make pancakes. We like those too in this family. We like them a lot.  So, while on the phone with Mom, I whipped together some Betty Crocker Bisquick and poured in a can of cherries. The smell that went through the kitchen brought back memories of Mom baking in the kitchen, living on the farm. I can remember having my own bowl and a few ingredients while she and my sisters would make pies, cookies, and cakes.

Cherry Cobbler is one of those simple recipe deserts that you can make in less than a half hour, and the smell lingers for hours. So how did I make mine?

You don’t have to call your mom on the phone like I did, but your mom might like to hear your voice anyway.

Mix up some thick pancake batter. Pour a can of cherry pie filling in the bottom of a baking dish. A couple of teaspoons of butter and then pour over your pancake batter. I did this in a 8 x 8 glass baking dish. Cook until the top is golden brown.

Serve by itself or with ice cream. I prefer mine with a good cup of tea. How about you?

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Make It Monday
One comment on “Cherry Cobbler – Farm Style
  1. Nadine says:

    Yum need i say more

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
