Quick Record Keeping with Quick Books

Last week we talked about what we needed to know about accounting and record keeping. If you didn’t catch that post, you can check it out here.

Today, we’re going to move forward and as mentioned in last week’s post, I’m going to tell you a little about Quick Books. First let me say, that I’m no way affiliated with Quick Books. I’m not going to try to sell you or make a profit on this post if you decide to buy the program. I have, however, been a Quick Books user since 2001.

Now that we’ve got that straight, lets talk about how Quick Books can help you keep your records updated quickly.  I’m sure there are other programs out there that may or may not be able to help you keep your accounting records updated, but today we’re just going to talk about Quick Books since that is where my experience lays. I have used several different accounting programs throughout my career as an accountant. Many of those programs I wouldn’t recommend to you simply because they are above and beyond what the small business owner needs and can afford in their accounting software program.

If your anything like me, I don’t have a lot of time to spend on my bookkeeping. Yeah, I spend all day on other people’s books, and keeping up with my own business, then the last thing I want to do is my own bookkeeping. I’m sure you can understand.

As writers and craftsmen, you get caught up with your work, you pile up the receipts and tell yourself you’ll deal with it later. Soon that pile becomes a box and that box is what you face at the end of the year. You might keep up with invoices because how else are you going to ship your product and get paid, right?

When you have an accounting system in place, you should take a few moments, whether it is at the beginning of your day or the end of your day to catch up with your bookkeeping. Quick Books is one of the most user-friendly accounting softwares that I’ve used over the years. A few clicks gets you exactly where you need to be.

I keep mine open all day and record it as soon as it comes in or goes out. This may not work for everyone. So let’s talk features. These are the top ten reasons I think Quick Books can help you with your record keeping in a timely manner.

10. It’s user-friendly. I know I just said that. But really my 9 yr old could probably figure it out.

9. It lays everything out for you in the company homepage as far as navigation. There’s no guess-work when you want to make a deposit or write a check.

8. Repeat business is a cinch with your customer lists and can even look up by that customer’s invoices to see what they’ve purchased in the past.

7. You’ll never miss paying your bills again, because you can have Quick Books remind you.

6. Keep track of vendor contact information and purchase history at a click.

5. email invoices and quotes straight from Quick Books to your customers.

4. Accept credit cards through Intuit whether online or at a street show and update your customer accounts automatically.

3. Familiar ledgers for checking and bank accounts without the DOS system and multiple windows to record your transactions.

2. Merge multiple accounts for the same customer into one account. No more bounceing between several accounts for one customer.

1. Year end reports for taxes are only a click away through reports and sending files to your accountant.

I leave you to ponder those points. If your a quick books user and would like to share what you like, please feel free to leave a comment below. Next week, we’ll move on and start a new topic.

Now, I’m off to amuse my creative side. 🙂

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Talk Tuesday

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
