Lions, Tigers, and Bears Oh My!

OK

I’ve been working on finishing up my latest work in progress that I began as part of NanoWrimo in November. I made a New Years’ resolution that I would finish the first draft before moving onto editing another draft or starting a new piece of work. My goal was to have it finished before the New Year, but I’m almost there.

I realized while writing my Nano project that my main character was missing something. Not only that, I had a large word gap to make it to my word count goal. Then I got to thinking that  most hero’s have a best friend, a trusted adviser  and some even have pets. Of course in Troll Hunter, you really can’t have a horse. Trolls  scare the living daylights of them.  Don’t get me wrong. I love horses! But horses and trolls don’t mix.

I thought, okay, maybe my hero can train a horse not to be afraid of these scary monsters. Nope not going to happen. Then I realized that I needed to pick something else. Something big and strong. A tiger maybe? Not practical. There are no tigers in this forest. Nor lions….So what better than a bear?

I really like this picture by Deadliestfiction.wiki.com.

I hadn’t thought about my bears being ridden so much as being a companion to my hero. Something strong and furious  but lovable at the same time. Defiantly  not a teddy bear sort of lovable.  It has made me want to go back and read The Golden Compass again.

But unlike Philip Pullman’s, The Golden Compass, my hero’s bear isn’t white and doesn’t wear armor. I’ve named this bear Uschi in my tale of a boy and his bear who tries to save a village of non-believers from a giant troll.  Uschi is of German origin meaning “little she-bear”. And, I’d say my little she-bear looks more like the brown bear above with snow-covered paws.

My evenings have been so wrapped up in writing Uschi into the story that before I know it I’ve spent half my nights emerged in visions of snow-covered forests and places to hide when a troll comes stomping by. I can’t wait for my hero to take Uschi back to his village and have the people react to this new best friend.

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
