Is It Your Head or Your Heart That Influences Your Decisions?

It has become my experience that there are two types of people when it comes to decision making — those who use their heads and those who use their hearts.

Photo compliments of flickr Modigliani

I’m one of those people that when I want something, I want it now. I can’t wait. I can’t think beyond the next day or even the next month. Now, my husband, he’s just the opposite. He’s always looking down the road to when we’re ninety. That is if we’re blessed enough to reach that age.

Now our children, you could say are almost the same. We girls seem to think more with our hearts and make decisions based on if it feels good. Wasn’t there some old cliche’ saying about “If it feels good, do it?” That’s what is like when you think with your heart.

My boy, however, is a thinker more like his father. He got money for his birthday last month, and he decided to save it for a later date. He didn’t have anything in particular that he was saving it for. He just decided he didn’t want anything right now and would want something later.

If that would have been one of my girls, they would have insisted that they needed to spend that money immediately.

See the difference?

Now that doesn’t go to say that all women make their decisions with their heart and that all men are hard headed. It could be just the opposite… there is always an exception to every rule…

We can’t all make heartfelt decisions.

or can we?

I just recently read a post over at Micheal Hyatt’s blog on Decisive decision making.  It and the fact that I’ve had to make a lot of decisions lately in my life is what inspired today’s post.

I truly believe that sometimes we can make a decision that not only right for us, but right with God, that we feel this sense of peace about the decision we’ve made. I don’t care what anyone says, when you have peace about the outcome then it was the right outcome for you. Those kind of heart influenced decisions are rare.

You don’t have to be hard headed to make decisions.

Sometimes we get so stuck on one course of action that we can’t see the other options available to us. It’s like being a buggy horse trotting down the road and not being able to see the cars passing by due to the blinders on either sides of your eyes. The only path is the one straight ahead. And after you’ve gone down that road so many times, you convince yourself there is no other path to follow but the one ahead of you.

We live in a generation now that is finding that entering the work force isn’t like it was twenty years ago. Today, those who thought they would get a job out of college and stay with that company until retirement are finding it isn’t the way the thought it would be. There are a lot of people having to make new decisions of what their future will be and you can count on a lot of heart influenced decisions that are made from initial reaction to rediscovering the future.

But the paths are there, along with the decisions to choose which path to try next.

I choose my paths with my heart. Even though I keep my mind open to the thoughts and wisdom of those I trust to give counsel, ultimately it’s me who has to choose and my heart that influences what I do.

Is it your head or your heart that influences the decisions you make?

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
