Education From Scratch

All too often we hear the term “from scratch” in reference to bake goods and yes.. even chickens.

This week, the kids went back to school.

 

Nothing new right?

Not unless you live here in the Lower household.  Let’s just say we’ve decided to take our family back to the bare dirt and scratch from there. Starting with education.

I’m not making much sense am I? And if you’ve been following my facebook posts, you’ve may have been curious about all the “hard decisions” and “transitions.”

After a lot of prayer and consideration, my husband and I decided it was time for me to step out of the work force and back into the ‘mom’ force. This week I said goodbye to the wonderful people at the trucking company I’ve worked at for the past two years and hello to this new phase in our families life. The one that says, “Hello, I’m Susan Lower. Freelancer and Cyber School Mom.”

Yep, never though I’d say those words. Never imagined I’d take off my financial cap and put on my homeschooling hat. But as of this week, our oldest daughter Bell and I have dove into the K12 learning system.

You see, Bell has ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder). For many years we’ve struggled with her in school. Year after frustrating year, of being told that our daughter was ‘extremely head strong’ and were on daily communications with teachers to get her to participate in class we had run out of ideas and were low on hope.

Then last year, we finally got a teacher who recognized that Bell was more than head strong. She was defiant and was lacking in social skills. Not a lot of kids want to be your friend when they think your stupid and you’ve got a scar on your face. Our daughter’s, self worth was in the negative.

So this year, we decided to put our oldest daughter in a school where she could learn at her own pace, rebuild her self esteem, and still have opportunities to make new friends and keep in touch with the old.

Hence, I’ve become a cyber school mom.

I left my job on Wednesday and on Thursday we started our lessons. It’s been a hard two days.

Bell wants to go back to ‘real’ school and I just want to figure out how to make this work. Our two colliding personalities haven’t helped in the transition either. That and seeing her brother and sister go through the doors of public school everyday hasn’t made it easier. I can appreciate her feelings about wanting to be around other kids her age. On the other hand, as her mother, I just want to wrap my arms around her and protect her from all the mean things kids have said to her over the years and their lack of friendship because she was different from them.

If only I could wrap up going to cyber school in a nice neat bow of excitement and expensive electronic gifts that would make it all better. But I can’t. Without my job, let’s just say that birthdays and Christmas are going to be on the lean side for a while. But I’d gladly become a little more thrifty and creative with our financials any day if it makes all the difference in Bell’s education and our family’s well being.

After all, I’m a mom.

I know when you start something from scratch that you’ve got to give it time. We’re only two days in, and I’m praying one day at a time that not only will this help Bell catch up academically but rebuild the mother and daughter relationship that I’ve felt has become strained over the years of dealing with all of her surgeries.

If there are any homeschooling/ cyber moms out there with some advice on how to organize you and your child’s day of learning, keeping your child in-tuned with the world outside, and dealing with this type of transition I’d love some advice.

 

 

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Education From Scratch
  1. janhatchett says:

    Welcome to the world of homeschooling! It can be a tough transition, but it will be so worth it in the end. You will enjoy being able to work with your kids and their strengths! I have an autistic and epileptic son and the only way we would ever get any school done is that I can work around when he is able. Schools would just let him fall behind.

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
