Homemade Tomato Soup

homemade tomato soupIn the Lower household, we eat a lot of tomato soup. Did I say a lot?

I meant to say, a lot, a lot, a lot… yep that’s a lot.

I’m always buying it in the can by the case. No, really we do.

Sunday lunch at our house is quick and simple. After a morning of worship and praise with our church family, the kids want lunch in a hurry. So what’s quicker than a can of heated up soup and a toasted cheese sandwich? How about homemade soup?

Less sodium, much healthier and much more affordable when you literately go through it in the gallons!

A good friend shared some tomatoes from her garden that she had bagged and froze. She just had too many tomatoes and I had too little. Isn’t it great how God puts us together and we help each other out?

I’d gotten this tomato recipe from the South Beach Diet.

I’ve put on a few pounds from the past few years of sitting behind a desk and too many chocolate chip cookies.

So, I pulled out my recipe book again.

I’ve tweaked the recipe a little so it’s more of a Tomato Ham and Bean Soup.

Shh… don’t tell the kids there are beans in it!

I make it in a big batch, but it pretty much goes like this:

1 onion chopped and sauted

1 thick ham steak cooked and diced

1 container of chicken broth (I think they are 32 oz)

1 can of mushrooms

1 bag of chic peas cooked

a dozen tomatoes, peeled and diced.

Cook in large stew pot.  Bring to a boil and simmer 8-10 minutes

add garlic and parsley to taste

Use a food processor puree.

I usually have to divide it in four and puree a little at a time.

Then I pour it into freezer bags. I freeze until ready to use. 🙂

Sunday’s meal is ready to go.

 

What do your Sunday meals usually consist of?

 

 

 

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
