Why You’ve Got Potential in November

The official launch of Nanowrimo has occurred. If you haven’t read my post through the years or ever heard of Nanowrimo, affectionately referred to as “Nano” by us novel crazed writers, it’s a challenge to put together a 50,000 word novel in one month.

This month. November.

For the past four years, I’ve tried. And I’ve failed.

Yes, you read that right. I failed. I’ve come so close, and then life has pulled me away from my precious word count. I can see the scene now from Lord of The Rings and hear, “my precious… my precious…”

Trust me, I’m not that far gone…yet. But this year. Well, this year has potential.

Why? Because I’ve decided to take it from a different approach. I tell my kids all the time that I expect them to do their best, and even if their best means that sometimes they come in second place, that’s okay. It’s trying and doing your best that counts.

Not all of us were called to write fifty thousand or more word novels. Inside us we each have our own burning desire to complete something, and I believe God lit that torch inside us a long time ago. Just for some of us it might burn brighter than others depending on what stages we are in our journey.

What’s burning inside of you?

What is it that you desire more than anything?

Have you prayed about it? Really prayed about it?

Then you have potential.

It’s been eight years now, down this “getting serious about writing” adventure and “becoming an author” journey. There have been a lot of distractions along the way, some of them – three to be exact—I’d let distract me again any day. But others, I’ve recently realized are just cluttering my way, oppressing that torch from burning brighter.

Do you know what I mean? Do you have like a dozen things you’ve started and haven’t finished?

Well, for those of us who aren’t writers, why not take the Nano challenge this month and finish one of those projects? Nano in Greek “nanos” means dwarf or very small. Let’s not let the small stuff get in the way of our potential to pursue our hearts desire, shall we?

This month, I’ve got a plan.

I’m a pantser. Odd, word, isn’t it—pantser. Basically, I’m one of those who write by the seat of my pants with no outline or knowing where I’ll go next or what characters will pop on the page.

But not this time. I’ve got an outline. Yep, go ahead and read that line again. And, I’ve got character sheets, and a plot. *GASP* I really went all out this year. I can even sum up my story in one line!!

Oh gosh, now I’m really revved about Nano. Why? Because not only have I increased my potential of finishing my novel, I’ve also equipped myself with the tools I need to keep me on track.

No matter what task you choose for your Nano this month, I know you’ve got potential to go above and beyond what God is calling you to do, even if it means taking out the trash when it’s cold outside.

Keep me posted. I’d love to hear what you’ve chosen for your Nano this month and how you’re coming along with achieving it.

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
4 comments on “Why You’ve Got Potential in November
  1. Glad to hear you’re taking another stab at it! You’re killing it so far. 🙂 Hope to meet you at one of the write-ins!

  2. […] week, I challenged you to take on your nano with me. If you didn’t read that post, you can catch up here. Whether you are a writer or tackling some other project, we need each other. Why are we in this […]

  3. […] This month I challenged you all with your Nano’s. Did you complete your task? How did you do? […]

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
