And The Story Must Go On

Have you ever read a great book and didn’t want the last page to come because it was so good you just wanted to read on forever? There are a lot of books out there, and that’s why we pick up the sequel or in many cases the next book in the series and keep following along with it like a tv sitcom that you can’t miss on a Monday night.

One day, I hope you all find my books to be page turners, too.

photo credit: AJC1 on Flickr

That’s why I know that even thought November has ended, the story still has to go on. You see the goal of writing a 50,000 word novel is great. It’s been a wonderful motivator to keep the pace of writing 1668 words a day. And, not all novels end at 50,000 words. Some novels are shorter and some much longer. My novel is about half way done with this first draft. I’ve brought my character Valasca out of the pagan city and back to the jungle for a bit.

I’m not about to rest, or let her rest for a bit now that I’ve come this far. I know if I don’t keep going, the Valasca’s story will become forgotten in my mind and left taking up memory on my computer. I don’t want that to happen, plus, I am having way too much fun writing this book.

I’ve done a lot of research this to set up the culture and lay of the land for this novel. Recently, as I sat cuddled up to my kids watching a show, I got so excited when I saw the children in the cartoon were playing the ancient Mayan ball came in an authentic ball court. My kids just shake their heads at me, but when I share what I’ve learned, they think I’m awesome because i know something they don’t.

So with all that being said, the story must go on.

I’ve decided to retreat the remaining half of this novel just like a nano from before. I’ll pace myself and keep you all updated on my fan page of my progress in working on this novel draft. Along the way, I’ll keep asking questions to help guide the story from your input and most likely revise the title with a survey or contest of sorts.

We’ll have Valasca out of the jungle and back on her rightful throne before the new year. Then we’ll talk about revisions.

For now, the story must go on.

If you found out you were the rightful heir to rule in an ancient city off the coast of a beautiful sea just beyond the jungle, would you come back to claim what is rightfully yours?

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
