The Ice Cutter’s Daughter – Book Review

It has been so cold these past few days with another snow storm dumping more snow and sleet on us, I’ve been finding ways to stay warm. Like reading books about winter, LOL…

This book caught my eye at our local library while the kids participated in various clubs, I decided to sit and read as I waited on them. Of course, I ended up taking the book home so I could finish it, despite the fact I have several books loaded on my Kindle app on my phone that I read on such an occasion. But Libraries are places to read and this was great read.

Really, I couldn’t put it down. I think it was those first pages of the main character Merrill checking on her beloved horse and mucking out stalls that drew me into this story. I read and read, and even at 2am when I knew I needed to get up at 6am the next morning, I had to force myself to close this book. But the next morning I was reading again and trying to get kids ready for school. I skipped my usually morning writing time so I can read. Did I say it was a good book?

Not many books can grab my attention like this one, not to where I didn’t want to put it down.

Even though this book takes place in the late 18th century during the cold winter months in Minnesota, it left me nice and cozy warm after reading it.

I hope it does you, too.

What good book are you curling up to in these cold days of February?

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
