A Mother’s Intuition

A little over eleven years ago, I remember sitting in a hospital room and listening to a pair of nurses whisper with their backs to me. Occasionally, one would look over at me and frown. I had just spent twelve hours in labor with these women by my side holding my hand and telling me to push. I knew their frown wasn’t at me so much as it was for my newborn baby. I didn’t care, she was the most precious creation God had ever made, and to me she was beautiful.

A Mother's Intuition

Like most parents, I picked out her name before she was ever born. I didn’t give my husband a word in the matter on this one, I’d chosen her name long ago–Isabella.

When I was younger, my oldest sister used to call me “Bella,” a family nickname that was bestowed on me when I was little. I’m sure my sister would take great delight in telling you why she gave me that nickname.  It had nothing to do with my appearance, I’ll say that much.

Having married into a family of Italian ancestry, one of my husband’s uncles shared with me that Bella meant beautiful. When I held my newborn daughter in my arms, not only was she beautiful to me, I knew I’d chosen the right name for her.

You see, there is no better way to remind my child that she is beautiful than to call her “Bella” everyday, even on the bad ones.  

I knew my daughter would be different, God told me so. I never realized the toll it would take on my lovely daughter’s self-esteem these many years later.

Yesterday, THE MOTHER’S HEART magazine released their January/ February 2014 issue. This is a free online magazine that you can download the current issue here.

I encourage you to read it. On page 84, you’ll find my article “A Mother’s Intuition” where I write just how God told me my baby would be different. I also share what that moment was like and what it was like a few years later when my daughter acknowledged her vascular anomaly.

If you’re a parent of a child with a physical disability or like my daughters have a child with a hemangiomia, or you’re just a parent or know someone who is…. I hope this article encourages you on your parental journey.

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “A Mother’s Intuition

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
