Catching Up and Other Ideas

I’m sorry I don’t have anything great for you all today.

It’s my catch up day, and I’m in planning mode for the this month. Boy’s birthday is right around the corner and it looks like we’re going with a mine craft theme. Looks like I’ll be making a creeper cake and some zombie cupcakes for Boy’s school.

I’ve also got the spring board meeting this month for St. Davids Christian Writers Association and I’ve got to get the gang together at West Branch for a planning meeting for our own one day conference sometime before the end of the month.

And here everyone thought when I left my job to stay home and let Bell attend Cyberschool that all I’d be doing is writing all day. 🙂 If only! Cyber school and Bell take up most of the hours in the day right now, but I like to remind myself that if I screw up a book I can go back and revise it. If I screw up my kids…well… there’s no going back. They only get one childhood to remember.

In the coming weeks I’ll be sharing more about what’s like to emerge yourself in the creative life as a parent and balancing the duties of being a wife and mother with the challenges of raising a child who need a little extra love and attention as well as finding time as a creative writer and creative entrepreneur.

I’ve been homesick for the farm a lot these past few weeks and I’m looking forward to a visit back home here in the near future. The kiddos are excited for it as well. I keep my saddle where I can see it every day and I keep dreaming of the day when I’ll have a horse to put it on again. I miss all the barn smells, I wish I could put them in a bottle and save them for days that I’m missing the farm. There’s nothing like the smell of old leather and horse to make a girl feel at home.

It’s tax season so the numbers girl in my has kicked in and have been working on taxes and helping those who can’t afford to pay someone do a simple tax return. I’ve got my own in the drawer that needs finished, too.

And, I’ve got to get back to writing more this month. I admit, my writing time has been slim these past few months. If you couldn’t tell I’ve had my hands full with family and other creative endeavors, but I’ve got to get the girl out of the jungle on my latest work in progress, VALASCA from my nanowrimo project. Then there is TROLL HUNTER which I’ve had to re-plot and currently am working on revisions in the slim time I’ve squeaked out these past few weeks. I’m hoping to have it done by the end of the month to send off to an editor before preparing it to go to my agent.

In between, I’ve written a few short personal experience stories and a Christmas themed Novella. The juice is still in my muse, if only my brain could do the typing for me. I’ve been thinking of creating a pintrest board that is public to share with you all. I’m thinking it would be fun to have you post a picture and I’ll pick one each week to write a short story based on that photo. There might be some kind of prize if I choose your photo, not sure, what do you think? Want to participate in a public pintrest board and read the stories? Do you want the winner of the chosen photo to get a prize? What do you think it should be?

Those are the ideas I have for now, I’m all out and have to go back to catching up… starting with numbers.

I’m looking forward to hearing from you all, otherwise it’s just a dull Tuesday of wiping things off the to-do list.

I will be participating in a blog tweet party tonight, you can check it by clicking on the photo.

Blogelina.com

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Catching Up and Other Ideas
  1. suemidd48 says:

    Thanks for the info on the twitter party – I signed up to participate! So fun! And I love the idea of posting a pic on pinterest and then writing about it. Brilliant!

  2. Susan Lower says:

    It was a brain storm I had with Jen for the pintrest. See you on Twitter tonight!

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
