What Do You Know About Etsy?

Lately, I’ve been assisting a lot of people in setting up their Etsy shop. I’ve enjoyed it immensely.  I love seeing people expand their horizons and get so excited about doing something they love. 

I’ve been running my own Etsy shop, MrsChadT since 2009. When I first started my shop, it sat empty for a little while.  I had heard so much about this wonderful place for creative people to sell their art and handmade items; I couldn’t wait to get into it, too. 

At the same time, I was a stay at home mom with a husband working one full-time job and a tons of part-time jobs in order to help sustain our families basic needs, plus pay an enormous medical bill that was still escalating due to Bella’s health. 

It was around that same time, I was introduced to scrapbooking. Honestly, I’m not a scrap-booker. I have no desire to paste family photos and pages and make them pretty. But I do love the paper designs and I love books. I love to sew and craft and write and, yes, I just love to create. I knew I’d come to the right place when I’d found Etsy. 

Only, I didn’t know what to sell in my shop. 

Over the years, I’ve always been one to make Christmas presents and things for our home. 

I took some book binding classes, learned to make some cards and my shop took hold with my creations. I found my passion for books spread to making them as well as writing them. 

It’s been a slow and steady progress with both my writing career and my Etsy shop. It has only been most recent that I’ve had a stream of income develop and as any freelancer knows, it comes in spurts. 

Having an accounting background and some marketing classes under my belt, I also know how to look at the numbers. I’m not statistician, but I married one, so I’ve been able to track what works and what doesn’t in my shop. 

I wish I could say the same for words and tracking which ones work best when you don’t know what to say. I can appreciate the discouragement that comes along with waiting to get published and waiting for that first sale in your creative endeavors. After all, I’ve been there. I’m doing that.

A few years ago, when my husband got laid off from his job, I did the 9 to 5 thing. It turned our family upside down. I was miserable and I felt like my husband had stolen my position as the caretaker of our home. Even though I brought a pay check home every week, I felt I was leaving my family down. I saw that not having me at home effected my children and it put a slump in my marriage.

I understand we’re not always fortunate enough to stay at home with our children, but I’m a firm believer that one parent should stay at home if you’re raising a family. No one is to say you can’t work from home. Lots of people are finding ways to support a themselves or a family thanks to online markets like Etsy and other freelance sites depending on your calling and your talents.


Life today is not like when it was for our parents. If their are still blue collar jobs they are few and far between, and the pocket watch retirement is fading. The internet has opened a whole new era to us when it comes to opportunities. It reminds me of the times before blue collar factories where we had tradesmen and apprentices learning valuable craftsmen skills.


The difference about back then and now? They didn’t have the internet.

If you’re considering opening an Etsy shop or you already have one in the works, but you still have questions or are looking for a bit of encouragement, you’re welcome to ask and express them here. I’ll try to answer your questions the best I can and if I don’t know, we’ll find out together.

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “What Do You Know About Etsy?
  1. Reblogged this on Dot Com Lifestyle Adventures and commented:
    If you’re looking for a little bit of income on the side and you’re feeling crafty, Susan asks: What do you Know About Etsy?

    For some people selling crafts and stuff on Etsy could mean an extra couple hundred or even a few thousand dollars per month. Dedicate more time and real effort into it and it could be a huge source of income, but YMMV.

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
