Creeper Craze

creeper maskTomorrow is Boy’s birthday. He’s on a Minecraft craze lately, and decided he wanted a creeper treats to take to school today. Usually, for the kids birthdays I do cupcakes, and I fully intended to this time. That is until Mr. Smartypants announced he needed enough for both his 4th grade math class and his regular 3rd grade class. He’s not happy about having to be transported between two schools this year thanks to our school district splitting up the schools and turning our elementary schools into primary and intermediate schools ( a rant I’ll keep to myself today). But I was happy to see that he was thoughtful enough to think of both his classes for sharing treats today.

creeper rice crispy treatsThanks to a friend who sent me some Pinterest ideas, I forwent the cupcakes. 50 cupcakes is a lot and to carry between two schools was going to get messy. So…. I did rice crispy treats instead and made an attempt to create faces on them. Let’s just say that cake decorating isn’t one of my main creative outlets, but Boy was happy with them.

I used the regular rice crispy recipe and just added green food coloring to the butter and marshmallow mix before adding the rice crispy cereal. It was very easy. I don’t know why I haven’t ever made these before!

We’re heading off to the farm this weekend. I’ve already called ahead to warn the barn cats that the kids are coming. They may want to find better hiding places then the hay loft, as the kids will have digging for them. Of course, there is always the sound of the milk compressor and the cats come running for their share of the milk. They’re in for some hugs and cuddles if they do. 🙂

As for now, it’s time to round up my little creeper and his sisters so we can get ourselves in cow territory before dark.

Have an awesome Friday everyone!.

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
