Hold Fast To Your Dreams

Dreams

Hold fast to dreams
For if dreams die
Life is a broken-winged bird
That cannot fly.
Hold fast to dreams
For when dreams go
Life is a barren field
Frozen with snow.

Langston Hughes

Photo credit Flickr Creative Commons: Chandricka221

 

Somewhere inside all of us is an all-consuming obsession, a purpose, a burning desire to create something, obtain something, and achieve something.

Call it a dream, and remember that dreams can come true.

I once had a mentor figure in my life ask me what I wanted to be in life and where I saw myself in the future. When I told this person I wanted to be a bestselling author like Nora Roberts or Frank Peretti, they simply informed me, “We can’t all be bestselling authors. You still need a day job.”

Like most fiction writers, I started writing stories when I was young. In high school I sent a few to magazines and shared them with classmates and teachers. I played a little with flash fiction in college, but I was working, going to school, and falling in love with my husband.

Then after our son was born, my husband handed me a pen and reminded me that I’d wrote in my high school year book that I wanted to own my own business, be an author, and have kids.

It’s been nine years since I took that pen from my husband and wrote that novel. The novel my agent is marketing and the one that I wrote, rewrote, and rewrote again as I learn what it was to revise my writing and perfect my craft.

And for a short time, I tucked my dream away and tried to convince myself that I should give up and accept that the desire in my heart was only that, a desire… a dream.

Yet, it only brought heart ache and misery not to write, not to create. I’d rather not sleep then not have the time to do what I love. And when I sleep, the dream is still there.

Napoleon Hill once said, “Without developing an all-consuming obsession, a definite purpose, and a burning desire, you won’t find the motivation to succeed.”

When we truly believe in our dreams, we hold fast to them. There are always those who would rather pull you further from your dreams then boost you higher within their reach. Many have tried, many have failed, and only you know whether you will succeed.

I am who I believe I am. I’m an upcoming bestselling author. I’m a creative entrepreneur and a wife and mother. Sound egotistical? Perhaps to those who have never dreamed or allowed themselves to peruse the desire of their heart, but to someone who has, then believe in the dream and hold it fast.

Whether your dream involves writing, art, creating something with your hands, or climbing the corporate ladder—hold fast to your dream, for as Langton Hughes puts it so poetically, “For if dreams die, life is a broken winged bird that cannot fly.”

Finish this sentence:

I’ve always dreamed of …

Daughter of a dairy farmer, this crafty mom has a heart for all things handmade. When she's not writing or crafting, you can find her creating memories with her family.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Currently Represented by
What I’ve recently read
